Writing Vices

According to the dictionary; Vice (adjective) is a weakness of character or behaviour; a bad habit. As writers we have our own vices when it comes to writing and how we function in a word where words are queen and grammar is the jailer. Originally I saw this on Jodie Llewellyn’s blog and it got me thinking about my 4 biggest vices.

 

1) English Breakfast Tea
I can’t write without a hot cup of tea within reach. It’s weird to explain but it’s like a release of all the clutter inside of me and I feel clean and fresh. It also helps me de clutters the grammar errors and allows the focus to be expanded instead of being

Yum!

distraction by my Tudor’s Box set. It’s a weird vice but when I was Freelancing for Blaire  Magazine; I always had some sort of hot tea with me. It’s an element now in my professional  writers kit.

 2) Laptop:
 Yes I have a crappy 2012/13 Chromebook Acer but its compact size. Brilliant for when I’m on  open Wi-Fi but I can’t access my work without internet only downside. Battery life is  AMAZING. I can do a full 29 hours before I need to recharge. Laptops are easier to blog on.  Smartphones drive me nuts. Plus Google Chrome has a wicked storage system.

 3) Facebook:
 Weird again but I like not being normal. Facebook is a great source of Information for Blog  Posts and laughs. The Trending section under your notifications box is funny. I see the weirdest things but it’s great story developer. It’s like your little black book of gossip and you’re secret weapon.

4) Ginger Grammar
Ginger Grammar is a site that edits your work. It does grammar checks, structure checks and rewrites alternative sentences. It’s handy especially when I’m stuck on a story structure. Needless to say. Every writer has a flaw; mine is just grammar and structure. This tool is free to use online and is downloadable to anyone who doesn’t have a Chromebook.

 

I’m not like anyone else. My writing vices make me the writer I am today. Writers n vice from each one to the next. It doesn’t matter what the differences are. It’s the content that matters.

 

5 thoughts on “Writing Vices

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 175 other followers

